At The Royal School, pupils are helped to identify their preferred learning styles in Year 7. Every lesson is planned to take account of the variety of needs in the class: learning styles, abilities, tastes and gender are all considered. This focus on individual needs enables differing pupils to succeed. Our high expectations lead to high achievement both in terms of GCSE and A Level results and in Value-Added results.

YEARS 7 – 9 (Ages 11 – 14)

The Royal School curriculum comprises Art, Combined Sciences, Design and Technology, Drama, English, Geography, History, ICT, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Music, PE, PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education including Citizenship) and Religion, Philosophy and Ethics. Classes are small and a range of teaching strategies is employed to ensure that all pupils are in a position to access the curriculum. Techniques include whole class teaching, one-to-one instruction, group discussion and role play, project work, field trips, multimedia and internet research. Assessment is via written tests, presentations, practical study and ongoing review.

YEARS 10 – 11 (Ages 14 – 16)

All pupils study the following ‘core’ GCSE subjects:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Religion, Philosophy and Ethics *
  • Combined Science or Biology/Chemistry/Physics

In addition, pupils choose one language (French or Spanish)** and two further options from the list below. 

  • Art (Fine Art) #
  • Art (Photography) #
  • Art (Textiles) #
  • A second language
  • Design Technology: Product Design
  • Drama and Theatre Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • Computer Science
  • Music
  • PE

* Pupils have started Religion, Philosophy & Erhics in Year 9 - this will continue in Year 10 and they will sit the Short Course exam at the end of Year 10.

** With the support of the School, pupils may be allowed to choose a third option rather than take a language.

# A maximum of two Art courses may be taken, not Textiles and Art.

GCSE subjects will be graded on a 9 (high) to 1 (low) scale, with grade 4 being a 'standard pass' and grade 5 being a 'strong pass'.